Second Symphony (Reed)

From Wind Repertory Project
Alfred Reed

Alfred Reed

General Info

Year: 1977-1979
Duration: c. 22:30
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: E.B. Marks through Ludwig Masters
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $175.00


1. Lento (ma ritmico)
2. Allegro con fuoco
3. Molto moderato e sostenuto


Full Score
Flute I-II-III (III doubling C Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


In parts:

  • E-flat Alto Clarinet, m.126: Extend the crescendo to measure 127
  • Baritone, Tuba, m.220: The last two notes should be F, not G-flat
  • Timpani, m.287: 2nd note should be E-flat, not E
  • Percussion III, m.372, 376: Transfer the sound in the upper Vib. to the lower Bells

In score:

  • Percussion III, Page 73, 74: Instrument name of the upper staff should be Xylophone, not Vibraphone

Program Notes

Commissioned by and dedicated to the Michigan State University Symphonic Band, Kenneth G. Bloomquist, Conductor.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Michigan State University (East Lansing) Symphonic Band (Kenneth G. Bloomquist, conductor) – 6 May 1978 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works