Second Symphony (Barnes)

From Wind Repertory Project
James Barnes

James Barnes

This work bears the designation Opus 44.

General Info

Year: 1981 / 1990
Duration: c. 22:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Keiser Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $250.00   |   Score Only (print) - $150.00


1. Elegia – 7:15
2. Variazioni Interrotte – 8:00
3. Finale – 6:30


Flute I-III (5 players, II and III doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-III (III doubling Contrabassoon)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-III (6 players)
B-flat Bass Clarinet (2 players)
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV (8 players)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II (4 players)
Bass Trombone (2 players)
Tuba (2 players)
Acoustic Piano
Electric Piano (or Celesta)
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bell Tree
  • Bells
  • Castanets
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Field Drum
  • Police Whistle
  • Roto-toms (small)
  • Sand Blocks
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tenor Drum (large)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraslap
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Premiered by the University of Kansas Symphonic Band with Robert E. Foster conducting, this work was presented the 1982 Neil A. Kjos Memorial Award for the most significant contribution to wind band music. It consists of three movements: an "Elegia" in sonata form, "Variazioni Interrotte" (Interrupted Variations), and a "Finale" in classic sonata form concluding in a coda which ends the symphony in a final, dramatic, colorful outburst: the sort of pure musical energy that only a modern symphonic band can produce.

- Program note by publisher


  • Neil A. Kjos Memorial Award, 1982


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works