Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Second Suite from Razumov

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Joseph Conrad, author of "Under Western Eyes"

Greg Bartholomew

General Info

Year: 2008
Duration: c. 16:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Art of Sound Music
Cost: Score and Parts - (Hard Copies) - $32.00   |   PDF download - $28.00


1. Ah, My Children (6:30)
2. Interlude (3:00)
3. You Cannot Pass the Mother By (1:45)
4. Haldin Was Betrayed (5:15)


Wind quintet:

  • Flute
  • Oboe
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • Horn in F
  • Bassoon


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The First and Second Suites from Razumov derive from Razumov, Greg Bartholomew's chamber opera based on the novel Under Western Eyes by Joseph Conrad. The First Suite (for clarinet and string quartet) is taken from three scenes from Act One of the opera, while the Second Suite (for wind quintet) is taken from Act Two. The opera tells the story of a young Russian, Razumov, who is caught up in the consequences when Victor Haldin, a fellow university student, assassinates a government minister.

The First Suite was premiered in its original quintet arrangement by Sean Osborn, clarinet, and the OdeonQuartet at Seattle's Town Hall on October 21, 2003, as part of the Sound Currents series of concerts co-sponsored by the Washington Composers Forum and the Seattle Composers Alliance.

The Second Suite was commissioned by a consortium of 20 ensembles led by the Aeolian Winds of Pittsburgh, who presented the world premiere performance on November 9, 2008, at the First Baptist Church of Pittsburgh.

-Program Note by Greg Bartholomew


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Aeolian Winds of Pittsburgh - 9 November 2008 ; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania WORLD PREMIERE
  • Aeolian Winds of Pittsburgh - 16 November 2008; Mt. Lebanon, Pennsylvania
  • Mexico City Wind Quintet - 23 March 2009; Mexico City, Mexico
  • Solstice Quintet - 8 May 2009; Spokane, Washington
  • Avenue Winds - 18 July 2009; San Francisco, California
  • 5 for Dinner - 26 July 2009; Jan Hus Presbyterian Church, New York
  • Camas Quintet - 6 October 2009; Tacoma, Washington
  • Antero Winds - 20 October 2009; Boulder, Colorado
  • Laureate Wind Quintet - 3 November 2009; Morgantown, West Virginia
  • Quinteto de Viento "Ciudad de Soria - 1 December 2009; Soria, Spain
  • Spring Wind Quintet - 8 March 2010; Kaneohe, Hawaii
  • Spring Wind Quintet - 15 March 2010; Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Vento Chiaro - 17 October 2010; Brookline, Massachusetts
  • Oregon Wind Quintet - 18 November 2010; Eugene, Oregon

Works for Winds by This Composer