Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Searching for Lost Dreams

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Dana Wilson

Dana Wilson

General Info

Year: 2013
Duration: 8:10
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $145.00; (digital) - $145.00   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Crotales
  • Marimba
  • Mark Tree
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Slapstick
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals (small and medium)
  • Tam-tam
  • Tambourine
  • Toms (2)
  • Triangles (small and large)
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibraslap
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Searching For Lost Dreams (2013) was commissioned for the 75th anniversary of the New Jersey All State Bands. The composer offers the following about the work:

As I began this piece, it was as though I was entering a dream. The music was atmospheric, undefined, and somewhat disorienting. Gradually the material became more focused, but just in time to switch to a very different – though related – sound world, which became the second movement. There was an overall poignancy and dramatic shape to the music that suggested the title that currently exists.

- Program Note from University of North Texas Wind Symphony concert program, 17 November 2016


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire Symphony Band (Phillip A. Ostrander, conductor) - 4 May 2022
  • Ohlone Wind Ensemble (Fremont, Calif.) (Tony Clements, conductor) – 20 October 2019
  • College of the Sequoias (Visalia, Calif.) Symphonic Band (Michael Tackett, conductor) – 6 October 2019
  • University of Oklahoma (Norman) Wind Symphony (Dan Harbaugh, conductor) – 1 October 2018
  • University of North Texas (Denton) Wind Symphony (Jacqueline Townsend, conductor) – 17 November 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer

A complete list of Dana Wilson's compositions may be found here:


  • Dana Wilson website
  • Perusal score
  • Townsend, Jacqueline. "Searching for Lost Dreams." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 11, Compiled and edited by Richard Miles, 633-640. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2018.
  • Wilson, D. (2017). Searching for Lost Dreams [score]. Hendon Music: New York.