Sea of Clouds

From Wind Repertory Project
Robert Buckley

Robert Buckley

This work is the third movement of Buckley's The Seas of the Moon.

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 5:05
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00; (digital) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.50


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Rainstick
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Since the beginning of humanity we’ve been mesmerized by the moon. When our ancestors saw the dark spots on the moon, they believed they saw a kind of formation similar to the earth -- they believed they saw seas. These seas were originally named by Giambattista Riccioli, a 17th-century Jesuit astronomer -- we still use these names today. Four of these seas were chosen as a basis for this wind symphony, The Seas of the Moon. Because the names of these seas conjured up musical and visual images in my imagination, the music is cinematic in nature and designed to create an abstract impression of otherworldliness. The image for the second movement, Foaming Sea, came from watching the ocean during a violent storm with waves exploding and crashing all around -- however, the feeling was not that of fear but of excitement and exhilaration.

- Program Note by composer

The third movement of the grand cinematic suite describes impressions of the seas of the moon in paintings by Claude Monet. This movement is mostly subdued and dreamlike, with the music ebbing and flowing, building to a wall of sound before dissolving into silence.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of North Dakota (Grand Forks) Wind Ensemble (James Popejoy, conductor) - 12 October 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works