Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Scossa Elettrica (arr. King)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Giacomo Puccini

Giacomo Puccini (trans. Daniel King)

Subtitle: The Electric Shock

General Info

Year: 1896 / 2019
Duration: c. 1:45
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishers
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $78.00; (digital) - $78.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion (4 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In 1899 [other sources say 1896], the Italian city of Como hosted a celebration of scientist Alessandro Volta, for whom the electrical term "volt" is attributed. Renowned opera composer Giacomo Puccini was commissioned to write a celebratory march for the occasion and this work is the result, nicely scored for band by Charles Yates.

- Program Note from publisher

The theater “Sociale” was renovated and equipped with the most modern system of electrical lighting for the celebration. The committee for honoring Volta invited the world-famous Puccini to compose a special selection for commemorating the event, resulting in this piece. The title translates to “The Electric Shock,” which is played by slapsticks near the end of the piece.

- Program Note from Texas A&M Symphonic Winds concert program, 18 November 2018

Transcribed for the Lovejoy High School Wind Symphony, Lucas, Texas – Paul Heuer, Director

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer