Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Schoolyard Symphony

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Richard Ross Hembree

Richard Ross Hembree

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 5:30
Difficulty: II (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Gary P. Gilroy Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $59.00; (digital) - $59.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00


1. Out into the Sunny Day
2. March of the Kindergarteners
3. Sitting in a Tree
4. On the Blacktop
5. Here Comes the Bully


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Whistle
  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Claves
  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks
  • Triangle
  • Vibra-slap
  • Wood Block


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Schoolyard Symphony was written in 2012 for Grade 2 concert band. The piece, which begins, and ends, with a school bell solo, depicts a lively playground during which "recess" is taking place. Included in this short symphony are the March of the Kindergarteners, a playful rendition of Sitting in a Tree, a sweetheart's merry-go-round, a loner, a sixth-grade bully, and even a heroic champion who saves the day, all in the twenty-minute span of a recess session!

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer