Scenes of Wonder

From Wind Repertory Project
Mark Williams

Mark Williams

General Info

Year: 1994
Duration: c. 6:10
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $65.00; (digital) - $70.00   |   Score Only (print) - $6.00


1. Stonehenge
2. The Louvre
3. Fiesta de Pamplona – 1:55


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Castanets
  • Chimes
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Maracas
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Scenes of Wonder by Mark Williams is a suite in three movements, each expressing the different emotions felt when visiting certain "scenes of wonder" in Europe. The first movement, Stonehenge, with its intricate harmonies and "rock solid" style, depicts the power and mystery of the ancient stone monument. The second movement, The Louvre, is written in an impressionistic style and features beautiful solo opportunities for trumpet, trombone and horn. The suite concludes with Fiesta de Pamplona, a rollicking "paso doble" in 5/4 time conveying the excitement of the "running of the bulls" in Pamplona, Spain.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class B
  • Georgia: III
  • Louisiana: II
  • Mississippi: II-A
  • North Carolina: IV
  • Oklahoma: III-A
  • South Carolina: III
  • Tennessee: IV
  • Virginia: IV
  • West Virginia: III


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer