Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Scenes from an Ocean Voyage

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Brian Balmages

Brian Balmages

General Info

Year: 2009
Duration: c. 5:28
Difficulty: II (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: FJH Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $65.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.00


1. Introduction: Into the Great Blue Sea - c. 1:22
2. The Prowling Shark - c. 1:15
3. Dolphins At Play - c. 1:04
4. Whale Sighting - c. 1:22


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Trombone I
Timpani (optional)
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Ocean Drum
  • Ship Bell
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Vibraslap
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This spectacular four-movement work paints extraordinary pictures of sea life. Movements include Introduction - Into the Great Blue Sea, The Prowling Shark, Dolphins at Play, and Whale Sighting. Wonderfully programmatic with a wide array of effects and imagery, this work is orchestrated to sound much more difficult than its grade level indicates.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Indiana: III
  • Maryland: II
  • Michigan: Junior High C
  • Tennessee: II


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works