Scenes from Terezin

From Wind Repertory Project
Jack Stamp

Jack Stamp

General Info

Year: 2009
Duration: c. 9:30
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Neil a Kjos Music Company
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $65.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.00


1. An Evening in Terezin- 2:50
2. Home – 2:10
3. I Am a Jew – 2:35
4. Birdsong – 2:00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-VII, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Claves
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Orchestra Chimes
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Terezin Concentration Camp was the home for over 150,000 Jews during the Holocaust. Scenes from Terezin is based on the poems of Ava Scholsova and Fronta Bas, both of whom died in the Auschwitz concentration camp, and William Francis McBeth's beautiful and intense Kaddish. The four movements of this poignant work are bound together by a recurring motive. For the most part, the music is not happy or uplifting, but meant to portray a dark time in world history, and remind us to pause and be thankful for our freedom.

- Program Note from publisher and Evanston Now


State Ratings

  • Louisiana: IV
  • Texas: IV. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works