From Wind Repertory Project
Hector Berlioz

Hector Berlioz (arr. Alastair Wheeler)

General Info

Year: 1830 / 2016
Duration: c. 4:05
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Drumset
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Scaff! is an adaptation of the famous fourth movement of the Symphonie Fantastique by Berlioz in swing style. The story of the ‘March to the Scaffold’ is a tragic one where the subject, in a depressive state over a love interest, overdoses on opium. He dreams that he has killed his beloved and after his procession to the scaffold is now witnessing his own death. This arrangement doesn’t really reflect those tragic circumstances but instead re-dresses this great tune into a toe-tapping ‘big band’ number.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Prairie Wind Ensemble (East Peoria, Ill.) (Jim Tallman, conductor) - 17 March 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.