Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Henk Badings

Henk Badings

Subtitle: Voor Harmonie-Orkest (For Harmonie Orchestra)

General Info

Year: 1951
Duration: c. 20:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Saxophone and orchestra
Publisher: Doremus
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $147.95   |   Score Only (print) - $27.95


1. Allegro
2. Notturno (Largo)
3. Rondo (Presto)


Full Score
C Piccolo (optional)
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
E-flat Clarinet I-II
Solo B-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Bugle I-II (optional)
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II (divisi)
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The saxophone concerto was written in the summer of 1951 and a year later instrumented for a small symphony orchestra. It has the usual three-part concerto form with a tempo pattern of fast - slow-fast. The first movement, Allegro, has a main form of which the first thematic group develops from the antagonisms between a heavy, powerful playing orchestra and a more playful lyrical counter motive in the solo part. The second thematic group starts with a tuneful melody played by the soloist and is later taken over by the orchestra. In the final thematic group of the exposition, triplet motives arise from the swerving figures, and the saxophone plays a counterpoint in the exposition against alternatives of the other motives in the orchestra. A shortened and modified reprise concludes the first movement.

The second movement, Notturno, in a larghetto tempo, has a three-part form. After dodecaphonic introduction in which a somewhat improvising cadenza of the solo instrument is noticeable, the first part follows, characterized by a broad melody in the solo instrument, with an accompaniment of string orchestra. In the second part is a dialogue between solo instrument and several groups of the orchestra, especially with sonorous brass instruments. The third part is a variation of the first. The coda is a new form of the twelve-tone introduction melody. The third movement is a Rondo in presto tempo. The octatonic rondo theme is played following an introduction by the solo instrument. In the first couplet three muted trumpets play a counter motive.

From the counterpoints in the saxophone a return to the rondo theme develops. The alternative is a variation of the middle part of the Larghetto. A cadenza forms the progress to a modified reoccurrence of the rondo theme and of the first couplet. The coda shows a combination of the rondo theme -- now in lydomixolydic -- in saxophone and strings, with the alternative theme in trombones and horns and with the theme of the first couplet in three muted trumpets.

- Program Note for orchestral version by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Badings H. (1952). Saxophoonconcert : 1951 [score]. Donemus: Amsterdam.
  • Perusal score