Sarana Chou

From Wind Repertory Project
Sarana Chou


Sarana Chou (b. 1980, Taiwan) is an American composer.

Dr. Chou moved to the United States in 1998 from her native Taiwan to pursue composition studies under Samuel Adler, Shulamit Ran, Robert Morris, and David Liptak at the Juilliard School (BM 2002), the University of Chicago (MA 2004), and Eastman School of Music (DMA 2009).

Sarana Chou's music is known for its distinct expressiveness and intense musical language. As the first prize winner (Leo Kaplan Award) at the 2002 ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer Awards, Sarana Chou has been awarded numerous composition prizes. Her Toccata for Trombone and Piano won third place in the 2016 Wright State University Trombone Festival Composition Contest. She was named 2012 winner of Alabama Music Teachers Association State Commission Award, and 2nd International Call for Duet at Shanghai Conservatory of Music in China. She was also winner of the Ellen Taaffe Zwilich Prize from International Alliance for Women in Music, and the USA Florida Chapter of the International Society of Contemporary Music (ISCM) competition.

From 2008 to 2013, Dr. Chou was assistant professor and director of graduate studies in music at Samford University in Birmingham, Alabama. She is currently on faculty at West Virginia University School of Music.

Works for Winds


  • The Horizon Leans Forward..., compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 294.
  • Sarana Chou website Accessed 9 January 2021