Sarabande (tr. Bennefield)

From Wind Repertory Project
Claude Debussy

Claude Debussy (trans. Troy Bennefield)

Subtitle: From Pour le Piano

General Info

Year: 1894 / 1901 / 2019
Duration: c. 4:10
Difficulty: IV-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $120.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat ContraBass Clarinet (dbl with Contrabassoon)
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Claude Debussy’s Sarabande was composed in 1894 and was originally meant to be included as part of a set of three movements for piano called Images. Debussy decided instead to include it as the second movement in the solo piano suite Pour le Piano and it received its premiere in 1902.

A sarabande is a traditional dance form in triple meter, and its origins appear to be in Central America as a dance called the zarabanda. This dance eventually gained popularity in Spain and was even banned for some time. By the 17th century the dance evolved into a slower form in France and became a traditional movement of the suite during the baroque period.

Although Debussy’s Sarabande was famously orchestrated by Maurice Ravel in 1922, this new transcription uses Debussy’s own orchestral compositions as an instrumental guide to exhibit Debussy’s rich harmonic colors using the timbres available in the modern concert band. With the exception of a change in key from E to E-flat, all musical elements of Debussy’s original composition are maintained.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa) Clinic Honor Band III (Troy Bennefield, conductor) – 2 February 2020

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works