From Wind Repertory Project
Gordon Goodwin

Gordon Goodwin (arr. George Stone)

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 8:35
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Jazz orchestra
Publisher: Manuscript
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Glockenspiel
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone

Solo Piano
Solo B-flat Tenor Saxophone
Electric Bass
Drum set


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Suite for Trombone and Orchestra was composed in 1983 by jazz pianist, saxophonist, composer, arranger, and conductor Gordon Goodwin, and was commissioned by the New American Orchestra to feature trombonist Bill Watrous. The suite consists of two movements, a lyrical ballad followed by a lively samba, and was premiered in 1983 at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion. George Stone arranged the Latin-tinged second movement especially for today's concert to feature piano and tenor saxophone.

- Program Note by George Stone


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.