Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Salvation Is Created (arr Pilato)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Pavel Tchesnokov

Pavel Tchesnokov (arr. Pilato)

General Info

Year: 1912 / 2010
Duration: c. 3:30
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Nikk Pilato Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $60.00   |   Score Only - $20.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbal (crash and suspended)
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Salvation is Created (transliterated from the Cyrillic --- Cпасение coдeлaл or “Spaséñiye sodélal”) is a Russian Communion Hymn, one of ten in a cycle composed by Pavel Tschesnokoff (O`bej Weplmims) in 1912. Salvation is Created is the Communion Hymn for Fridays, intended to be sung during Liturgy on that day. This work bears the unfortunate distinction of being one of the last sacred works Tschesnokoff would compose before being forced to compose secular works by the increasingly oppressive leadership of the Soviet Union’s Cultural Bureau. The text for the hymn is based on a passage from Psalm 74: “But you, O God, are my king from of old; you bring salvation upon the earth.”

Original Russian Cyrillic Text
Cпасение coдeлaл еси
посреде земли,
Боже. Аллилуия.

Spaséñiye, sodélal yesí
Posredé ziemlí,
Bózhe. Allilúiya.

English Translation
Salvation is created,
in midst of the earth,
O God, O our God. Alleluia.

This transcription lowers the key of the original composition by one half-step from B minor to B-flat minor, and also differs from existing wind band arrangements of the work by following the phrasing of the original Russian text, and not the various English translations. The percussion parts are entirely optional, as are the various vocal effects. The vocal effects may also be extended to any other instrument (including percussion) that is not playing during the times they are called for.

-Program Note by Nikk Pilato


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • UGA JanFest Clinic Band (Nikk Pilato, conductor) - January 2011
  • University of Georgia Concert Winds (Nikk Pilato, conductor) – 23 February 2010

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works