Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Saint Anne's Fugue

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach (arr. William E Rhoads)

General Info

Year: 1965
Duration: c. 6:10
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Organ
Publisher: Southern Music
Cost: Score and Parts - Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work, originally for organ, is really three fugues, succeeding each other without pause. The opening one is smoothly flowing and noble. The second has an undulating, rhythmically more active theme. The final fugue is more marked and articulated in style.

- Program Note from Music for Concert Band


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • Arkansas: IV
  • Florida: VI
  • Louisiana: IV
  • Maryland: V
  • Tennessee: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Bach, J.; Rhoads, W. [1965]. St. Anne's Fugue [score]. Southern Music Co.: San Antonio.
  • Kreines, Joseph, and Robert Hansbrough (2014). Music for Concert Band: A Selective Annotated Guide to Band Literature. Delray Beach, Fla.: Meredith Music Publications:, pp. 90.