Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Ruth and Boaz

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Chad "Sir Wick" Hughes

Chad "Sir Wick" Hughes

General Info

Year: 2004 / 2010
Duration: c. 3:30-5:00, depending on speed
Difficulty: III-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Sir Wick Music
Cost: Score and Parts digital) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00; (digital) - $15.00


Flute (Piccolo)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Double Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Block
  • Triangle
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This piece is based upon the writings of the Book of Ruth in the Old Testament. This story of love starts off with Naomi saddened by the death of her husband, and then the sudden death of her sons. The lady Ruth stays by her mother-in-law‘s side as she goes to work. She then meets the handsome Boaz and they immediately fall in love. However, they cannot be wed because, according to tradition, she must be married to the kinsman-redeemer (this is the next of kin.)

Boaz makes an announcement in front of the council that the kinsman-redeemer shall receive the property of Emiloech (Ruth’s late husband.) He quickly accepts until he realizes that he must marry Ruth and hastily rejects. The estate of Emilech is then transferred to Boaz, who in return claims Ruth as his wife.

Why write about the Book of Ruth? This very small book in length seems unimportant; however, these two people are the ancestors of the great King David!

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 364.
  • Sir Wick Music Accessed 29 June 2020