Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Rumor of a Secret King, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Composer Name

John Mackey

General Info

Year: 2017 / 2018
Duration: c. 3:55
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Choir
Publisher: Osti Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $149.00   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet I-II (II optional)
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet (optional)
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion (7 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cabasa
  • China Cymbals
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Sandpaper Blocks
  • Snare Drum
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone

Players vocalizing


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This piece is about power in flux. The skittering rush of a rumor through a crowd is rendered in nonsense syllables; a long, lyrical line is overlaid, using text that evokes Handel’s Zadok the Priest, the traditional coronation hymn, replacing the jubilation of Handel’s anthem with ambivalence and anxiety. A new world is a promise and a threat: What will become of us?

And all the people will
Will all the people
Rejoice? Rejoice!
A new king comes
God save the king
The kingdom
His will be done
His will will be done

- Program note by A. E. Jaques


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works