Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Right Forward

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
John Philip Sousa

John Philip Sousa

This work bears the designation Opus 128.

General Info

Year: 1881
Duration: c. 2:20
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: William Pond
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Condensed Score
C Piccolo/Flute I
Flute II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet Solo-I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Guide Right and Right Forward, a pair of parade marches composed in 1881, have marching commands for their titles. Both were dedicated to a Marine Captain R. S. Collum, presumably a friend of Sousa’s in Washington, D.C.

- Program Note from John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Bierley, P. (1973). John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works. University of Illinois Press; Urbana, pp. 67-68.
  • "Right Forward March." Library of Congress. Web. Accessed 10 October 2020
  • Sousa, J. (1881). Right Forward March: Opus 128 [score]. Wm. A. Pond & Co.: New York.