Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Richard and Renée

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Carter Pann

Carter Pann

Subtitle: For Wind Ensemble and Piano

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 13:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Theodore Presser Co.
Cost: Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $40.00


1. Renée's Reply - 4:50
2. Floyd's Fantastic Five-Alarm Foxy Frolic - 4:30


Full Score
C Piccolo
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Solo Piano
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongo
  • Cabassa
  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Dime Store Fan Whistle
  • Glockenspiel
  • Guiro
  • Hi-hat
  • Police Whistle
  • Rachet
  • Sand Blocks
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks (5)
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibraslap
  • Whip
  • Wind Chime
  • Xylophone

Players clapping


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Carter Pann’s Richard and Renée was written as a gift for two musician friends of his, Renée Kershaw and Dick Floyd. The first movement, Renée’s Reply, is a musical portrait of the time the composer spent with his friend in Italy. According to Pann, “The music strives for a poignancy inspired by this new event in their relationship accompanied by a backdrop so beautiful it defies words. A writer/composer (anyone, for that matter) cannot live on the Amalfi Coast and remain unchanged, unmarked.” The second movement, Floyd’s Fantastic Five-Alarm Foxy Frolic, is in a playful ragtime style, with an ending that the composer describes as “over the top.”

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Pann, C. (2010). Richard and Renée: [for wind symphony and piano (2009)] [score]. Theodore Presser: King of Prussia, Penn.