Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Rhapsody for Brass Quintet

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Daniel Dade

Daniel Dade

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Daniel Dade
Cost: Score and Parts - Available after November 2o17


1. Lament
2. The Dance
3. A Certain Kind of Hymn
4. Ill-Tempered Fanfare
5. Red Tango


Full Score
B-flat Trumpet I-II
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Rhapsody for Brass Quintet is a piece in five movements which can also be played as one continuous sequence, lasting approximately eight minutes.

Written in early 2017, the Rhapsody opens with a somber horn call echoed throughout the ensemble in the first movement, Lament. Moving into the second movement, The Dance, the ensemble begins with a bouncy 5/8 rhythmic pulse, enthusiastically switching between simple and compound meter. In a stark contrast to the second movement, the third movement, A Certain Kind of Hymn, juxtaposes the emotion felt in The Dance with its slow-paced 6/8 chorale in (mostly) four voices. The fourth movement, the Ill-Tempered Fanfare, is a departure from the previous movements with its aggressive duple meter and walls of sound. The final movement, Red Tango, begins with a groove in the tuba, soon after joined by the trombone. Eventually the groove bursts into a complex dance, closed out by a slick glissando in the trombone.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.