Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Review March to the U.S. of A. Armed Forces, A

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Henry Fillmore

Henry Fillmore (ed. Robert E. Foster)

General Info

Year: 1942 / 2013
Duration: c. 2:50
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $80.00; (digital) - $80.00   |   Score Only (print) - $12.00; (digital) - $12.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II (3 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Henry Fillmore's patriotic march is made available again in an excellent authentic edition for today's bands. It contains all of the signature Fillmore march traits and will be a great piece to use for a warm-up march at contest or festival by accomplished bands.

- Program Note from publisher

This was composed as a parade review march in 1942 during the early years of World War II. Cast in 6/8 meter, the work modulates from C major to F major at the trio following established march tradition. The trio begins with an unaccompanied rudimental percussion section solo that leads to a bugle style trumpet section solo. The trombones add a counter-melody on the first repeat of this section while a second layer of counter-melody, scored in the upper woodwinds, is added on the second repeat, all building to a most satisfying finale. This lesser known Fillmore march should be added to the band’s repertoire.

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist, September 2013


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Courage (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Clark) (1919/2003/2012)
  • His Honor March (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Clark) (1934/2014)

All Wind Works