Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Renaissance Dance Fever

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Tielman Susato
Claude Gervaise

Tielman Susato and Claude Gervaise (arr. Kenneth Singleton)

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 8:25
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Grand Mesa Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $85.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


1. Procession of the Royals
2. The Queen's Slow Dance
3. Dances of the Merchants and Tradesmen
4. Peasant Dances


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tom-Tom
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This significant new Renaissance dance suite in four movements draws from published versions of tunes by the Flemish composer Tielman Susato (c. 1500-c. 1570) and French composer Claude Gervaise (1525-1583). All of the music is authentic to the original sources.

Procession of the Royals is characterized by call-and-response episodes between the woodwind and brass choirs, while The Queen’s Slow Dance begins with a trio for flute, clarinet, and bass clarinet. Dances of the Merchants and Tradesmen alternates between various choirs within the ensemble, while the concluding Peasant Dances begins with a percussion section solo.

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist

For the Coal Ridge Middle School Band, Firestone, Colorado, Heather Meier, director

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Susato Adaptable Music

All Wind Works