Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Reflections in Moonlight

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven (arr. Robert W Smith)

Subtitle: From the Moonlight Sonata

General Info

Year: 1801 / 2007
Duration: c. 2:30
Difficulty: II (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishers
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $55.00; (digital) - $57.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F
Piano (optional)
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Ludwig van Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata, composes in 1801, has been described as "too easy for beginners, too difficult for virtuosi." As a result, the simple, yet elegant, composition has fascinated and challenged musicians for over 200 years. The music of Beethoven was one of composer Robert W. Smith's first artistic loves: however, it was the introduction of the Moonlight Sonata during his pianos studies that marked a turning point in his creative life.

Reflections in Moonlight is a concert band setting of Beethoven's exquisite work. It is dedicated to Robert W. Smith's mother, Grazia W. Smith, with eternal gratitude for her tireless efforts in her son's early developmental years. The performance of this piece will hopefully introduce the genius of Beethoven to a new generation of musicians, yet remind Mrs. Smith of a young pianist discovering the true art of music in her living room so many years ago.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Kansas: III


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Beethoven, L.; Smith, R. (2007). Reflections in Moonlight: From the Moonlight Sonata [score]. Belwin: Van Nuys, Calif.
  • score
  • Robert W. Smith website Accessed 4 January 2022