Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Rag (Wind Ensemble)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert W. Smith

Robert W Smith

Subtitle: Mvt. 1 from American Dances

General Info

Year: 2017 / 2019
Duration: c. 2:24
Difficulty: IV 1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Brass ensemble
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $85.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00   |   Oversized Score (print) - $30.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
B-flat Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III (3 players), including:

  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

“American Dances” is a three movement suite originally composed for the Boston Pops Brass. Each movement features an American popular music genre. “Rag” draws upon the ragtime style most often associated with Scott Joplin and the city of New Orleans. This infectious rag will delightfully challenge your wind sections. When programmed with “Square” (Mvt. 2) and “Swing” (Mvt. 3)

- Program Note from publisher

Composed for the Boston Pops Brass, American Dances by Robert W. Smith is a multi-movement work on American popular dances and music. This work was premiered as part of the orchestra's summer season at Tanglewood in the Berkshires of Western Massachusetts.

This movement, entitled Rag, is based on the unique American ragtime style developed in New Orleans, Louisiana in the late 1800s. Scott Joplin, along with other great artists, created a new style of music that served as the forerunner to jazz and almost every other form of American popular music.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works