Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Quatuor pour saxophones (Glazunov)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alexander Glazunov

Alexander Glazunov

This work bears the designation Opus 109.

General Info

Year: 1932 / 1959
Duration: c. 25:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: M.P. Belaieff, through Schott Music
Cost: Parts Only (print) - €28.00; (digital) - €21.99   |   Score Only (print) - €15.00; (digital) - €11.99


1. Partie
2. Canzona variée (5 variations)

  • Variation I
  • Variation II
  • Variation III - A la Schumann
  • Variation IV - A la Chopin
  • Variation V - Scherzo

3. Finale


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Alexander Glazunov's Quatuor pour saxophones is one of his last works and, at the same time, one of the earliest quartets for this instrumentation at all. The work is virtually a little history of music -- 'delivered subsequently' for this younger instrument group: The first movement is characterized by wide melodic arcs reminiscent of Dvorák, Wagner and Brahms; the second movement, a canzona variée, refers expressly to Schumann and Chopin, while the dynamic and fresh rondo finale with its lyric middle section refers to forms of Bach.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Glazunov, A. (1959). Quatour pour 4 saxophones en si♭ majeur. Op. 109. Composé en 1932 à Paris, etc. [Score with P.F. reduction.. [score]. Belaieff: Bonn.