Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Quartet (Wolfe)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Joe Wolfe

Joe Wolfe (arr. Ellis Hendriksen)

General Info

Year: 1998
Duration: c. 18:20
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Flute, alto saxophone, bassoon and cello
Publisher: Joe Wolfe
Cost: Score and Parts - Free


1. Fast and syncopated, then steady – 5:10
2. Andante – 4:05
3. Minimal movement – 3:20
4. Waltz – 3:45
5. Brisk but unhurried – 2:00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The first movement has a melody in broken time which starts the piece off with a jazzy feel. This is contrasted with a steady cello tune. The two themes are then combined in different ways. The second movement gives the players a chance to regain their breath. The third movement is minimalist. The fourth movement recycles a little waltz that I wrote a long time ago. The fifth movement is a jazzy tune (based on material from the second movement) and its aim is to send the audience out whistling.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer