Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Promising Skies

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert W. Smith

Robert W. Smith

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 14:45
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $150.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Piano (doubling Ragtime Piano (slightly out of tune))
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Drumset (optional)
  • Hi-hat
  • Marimba
  • Mark Tree
  • Ride Cymbal
  • Shekere
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks (3)
  • Thundersheet (large)
  • Tom-toms (2: large graduated)
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone (3.5 octaves)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In late August of 2005, the normally festive skies over the city of New Orleans began to change. As Hurricane Katrina approached the city, the skies promised a weather event of unprecedented proportions.

Composer Robert W. Smith was commissioned by the United State Marine Forces Reserve Band of New Orleans to create this symphonic tone poem recreating and commemorating the Katrina experience. Beginning with Blue Sky, the jazz of the historic city provides the musical inspiration. Soon, the Threatening Sky arrives giving way to the Raging Sky. Finally, the Dawn of a New Sky brings hope as the city is reborn to share its musical gifts once again.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works