Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Prevailing Winds (Rogers)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Rodney Rogers

Rodney Rogers

General Info

Year: 1983 / 1989
Duration: c. 18:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Jenson
Cost: Score & Parts - Out of print.

Movements (played without pause)

1. Summer Fanfares - 8:30
2. Midsummer Moon - 2:35
3. Interlude - 2:45
4. Summer’s Farewell - 3:35


Full Score
C Piccolo I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Bass Clarinet I-II
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV-V
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Piano (4 hands)
Percussion, including:

  • Marimba I-II
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Prevailing Winds consists of four movements proceeding without pause in a tempo format of fast/slow/fast/moderate. The movement titles are I. Summer Fanfares, II. Midsummer Moon, III. Interlude, IV. Summer’s Farewell.

The subtitles suggest an entire process: the beginning, middle, and end of a season. This three-stage progression is reflected in the momentum of the composition as a whole and in the shaping of individual sections (each movement has its own beginning, middle, and end). The work’s fanfare opening contains restless energy and numerous motives that suddenly shift to a reflective mood and stillness in Midsummer Moon (the keyboard instruments are silent throughout this portion). The Interlude returns to the animated character of the opening with the piano as the focal point. This is followed by the quiet lyricism of Summer’s Farewell, a passacaglia-like set of variations over a bass line with a corresponding progression of chords. Motives presented in the opening of the piece can be heard in transformed versions throughout the remainder of the work, much like cyclic symphonic form prevalent in the late Romantic era where individual movements reuse thematic and motivic material found in the opening section.

In general, the piece reflects the sense of seasonal change from the energy of early summer to the slowing down of growth processes that gradually occur throughout the summer season.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer