Prelude and Fugue in D major

From Wind Repertory Project
Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach (trans. Branden Steinmetz)

This work bears the designation BWV 532.

General Info

Year: c. 1710 / 2018
Duration: c. 10:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Organ
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts - $175.00   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
C Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

J.S. Bach was working as a composer and organist in Weimar (Germany) between 1709 and 1717. Many of his well-known organ compositions were written there during his tenure under the Duke of Weimar, Wilhelm Ernst. Here, he was working with mostly secular works, as he was not employed by the church. Prelude and Fugue in D major was likely composed around 1710, though the exact date is uncertain. BWV 532 begins with a prelude that is divided into three distinct sections, before moving almost immediately into an elaborate and complex fugue. Like several of Bach’s organ compositions, this transcription serves to emulate both the various timbres and colors, as well as the contrast between delicate and powerful texture.

- Program Note from Michigan State University Wind Symphony concert program, 2 December 2018


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Colorado Boulder Wind Symphony (Branden Steinmetz conductor) - 24 February 2023
  • Michigan State University (East Lansing) Wind Symphony (Branden Steinmetz, conductor) – 2 December 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works