Praise Jerusalem!

From Wind Repertory Project
Alfred Reed

Alfred Reed

This work bears the subtitles Kovia Yeroosaghem! and Variants on an Armenian Easter Hymn.

General Info

Year: 1986
Duration: c. 16:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse Company
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $275.00   |   Score Only (print) - $14.00


Full Score
Flute I-II-III (III doubling C Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Harp (optional)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone

Brass Choir:

  • B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
  • Trombone I-II-III


In parts:

  • Piccolo, Oboe, m.305: 3rd note should be B-natural, not B-flat
  • Flute II, m.270 -271: Missing note (D/E-flat tremolo). Add by looking at the score
  • English Horn, m.89: 5th note should be G-flat, not F
  • English Horn, m.305: 3rd note should be G-flat, not F
  • Bassoon, m.264-265: 2nd note eighth note should be 16th note; 3rd note 16th note should be 8th note
  • E-flat Soprano Clarinet, E-flat Alto Saxophone, m.305: 3rd note should be A-flat, not G
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet, m.305: 3rd note should be D-flat, not C
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet II-III, m.89: 5th note should be D-flat, not C
  • Baritone, m.142: Should be "quarter note + dotted quarter note + 8th note "
  • Baritone, m.334: 5th note should be B, not B-flat
  • String Bass, m.58: 3/4 time signature should be 2/4 time signature
  • Timpani, m.358: Add crescendo from the 2nd note to the 1st note of the next bar
  • Timpani, m.381,389: Add crescendo symbol from the first beat to the first note of the next bar

In Score:

  • Piccolo m.408-409: Remove the note below the double stop
  • Flute I-II-III, m.39: 4th note should be quarter note, not 16th note

Program Notes

Praise Jerusalem! (Kovia Yeroosaghem), Variations on an Armenian Hymn, is built upon a seventh-century melody notated by the great Armenian musicologist Gomidas Vartabed, and found in the collection titled Chants of the Divine Liturgy of the Armenian Apostolic Church. The work is in the form of an introduction, theme with five variations, and a finale, all developed from elements present in the original hymn melody itself. The five variations have no programmatic significance and are meant to explore the purely musical possibilities inherent in this 1300-year-old melody, utilizing the full resources of the modern wind orchestra. The joyful mood of the hymn ("Praise the Lord, O Jerusalem: Christ is Risen from the Dead, Alleluia!") is heightened near the end with the addition of a brass sextet.

The work was commissioned by Purdue University in honor of the 100th anniversary celebration of its band programs, and was first performed there on April 19, 1987, by the Purdue University Symphonic Band under the direction of Harry Begian (1921-2010)

-Program Note by San Luis Obispo Wind Orchestra concert program, 11 December 2010


State Ratings

  • Georgia: VI
  • New York: VI
  • North Carolina: VI
  • South Carolina: VI
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Reed, A. (1988). Praise Jerusalem!: Variants on an Armenian Easter Hymn [score]. Birch Island Music Press: Barnhouse Music: Oskaloosa, Iowa.