Porto de Saudades

From Wind Repertory Project
Nelson Jesus

Nelson Jesus

Subtitle: Portuguese Rhapsody No. 1 for Symphonic Band, Opus 20

This work bears the designation Opus 20.

General Info

Year: 2015
Duration: c. 16:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Molenaar Edition
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €185.50   |   Score Only (print) - €37.10

Movements (played without pause)

1. Fado Menor do Porto
2. Moda do Entrudo
3. Valsa Antiga
4. Cava Vinha Malhão
5. Palacio de Cristal
6. Clérigos
7. Vinho do Porto
8. Fado Meno (reprise)
9. Finale


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Adufe (Moorish square tambourine)
  • Anvil
  • Bass Drum
  • Castanets
  • Cowbell
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Field Drum
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Frustra (Slapstick)
  • Glockenspiel
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone

Players singing


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Built as a rhapsodic suite in the style of the great band composers from the early XX century (also nationalists and proud of their folk music), this piece has nine small connected parts in a free form, juxtaposing the popular themes with original ones, the folk flavours versus abstract chamber music, orchestral and solo parts. Like a symphonic poem, it describes some situations and quotations of Oporto. Here the word Porto refers both to the city and to the harbour, literally a sheltered place.

- Program Note from publisher


  • Banda Sinfónica Portuguesa, 2016, 2nd prize.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works