Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Satoshi Yagisawa

Satoshi Yagisawa

Subtitle: The Ruins Know the Long and Magnificent History

General Info

Year: 2011
Duration: c. 10:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Brain Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $145.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-Toms (4)
  • Triangles (3, one high)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Pompeii, the Ruins Know Its Long and Magnificent History was commissioned for and dedicated to Hofstra University Symphonic Band and Dr. Peter Loel Boonshaft in Long Island, New York.

Through Bravo Music I received a warm note from Dr. Boonshaft describing his love and passion for my compositions … and how he wished to commission a dramatic and emotional sequel in my world heritage composition series.

I visited Pompeii in southern Italy in the summer of 2010. I was amazed to see a developed civilized city from more than 2000 years ago. This work is musically and dramatically comprised of various motives – “The Prosperity of the City. The Magnificent Mt. Vesuvius,” “The Sight of the Bustling Town,” “Calm Suburbs and Citizens Living in Peace,” “An Earthquake Attacks the City, February 5th, 62 A.D.,” “The Eruption of Mt. Vesuvius on August 24th, 79 A.D.,” “The Tragedy of Pompeii,” “Pompeii Today,” and “The Awe-Inspiring Ruins tell of this Ancient Civilization.” I have composed this work to describe history through music.

I could not be happier from the bottom of my heart that Hofstra University Symphonic Band and Dr. Peter Loel Boonshaft world-premiere this composition.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

  • Louisiana: V
  • Texas: V. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works