Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Polyphonic Suite

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Charles Carter

Charles Carter

General Info

Year: 1963 / 1991
Duration: c. 3:40
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ludwig Masters
Cost: Score and Parts - $40.00   |   Score Only - $3.00


1. Motet
2. Chorale
3. Madrigal


Full Score
Condensed Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

An original composition, the Polyphonic Suiteborrows the concept of Renaissance-period polyphonic textures, with each voice presenting independent musical elements.

-Program Note from publisher

This is a fine work consisting of three pieces, each of which exemplifies a polyphonic form used in Renaissance or Baroque music, but which is composed of original material. The first, Motet, uses imitative counterpoint throughout, thus helping to develop a sense of rhythmic independence. The second, Chorale, is written in a broad, flowing legato style. The third, Madrigal, is more lively and rhythmic, with both homophonic and polyphonic episodes.

-Program Note from Music for Concert Band


State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class CC
  • Florida: III
  • Georgia: III
  • Kansas: III
  • Louisiana: III
  • Maryland: III
  • Massachusetts: II
  • Michigan: Junior High B
  • North Carolina: III
  • Oklahoma: II-A
  • South Carolina: III
  • Tennessee: II
  • Virginia: III
  • West Virginia: II


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Krienes, J.; Hansbrough, R. (2014). Music for Concert Band: A Selective Annotated Guide to Band Literature. Meredith Music Publications: Delray Beach, Fla.; pp. 26.
  • Carter, C. [1963] Polyphonic Suite , for Band [score]. Ludwig Music: Cleveland Ohio.