Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Planet B

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Catherine Likhuta

Catherine Likhuta

General Info

Year: 2021
Duration: c. 6:05
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Catherine Likhuta
Cost: Score and Parts – Available after September 2022


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Guiro
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-tom
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Children are one third of our population and all of our future —Select Panel for the Promotion of Child Health 1981

It is no secret to anyone that our planet is suffering, least of all to the children of today. I heard the following sentiment: “Take care of your planet. There is no planet B.” And I thought: what if there were an ideal planet without violence, racism, greed, ecological emergencies and global pandemics? A musical journey towards such a planet could give us all some optimism for the future. I believe that in 2021 we need it more than ever.

The piece opens with static stacked perfect fifths, representing the vastness and the mysterious power of space. Then, we zoom in on Earth, singling it out from the entire galaxy. The Earth is crying. It is hurt. It is letting out deep sighs, as if a wounded majestic animal.

The next section of the piece, characterised by rising tension, is the musical version of "enough is enough!". It represents the protests, the high-school kids carrying huge posters, the outcries of the young generation. They are brave, bold, and they demand change and action. They came to protest and brought their message across loud and clear. Think about Greta Thunberg screaming: "...we will NEVER forgive you!!!" with tears running down her cheeks. The Earth is shouting with them, and the Earth is grieving with them.

The final section opens with the musical imitation of the sky clearing after a storm, sun coming out, and nature starting to awaken. This section is about positivity, hope and healing. In the final chords, we are zooming out and going back into space, seeing the Earth get smaller and smaller. The Earth is smiling. It looks greener. It feels healed.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer