Pilatus: Mountain of Dragons

From Wind Repertory Project
Steven Reineke

Steven Reineke

General Info

Year: 2002
Duration: c. 10:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C L Barnhouse
Cost: Score & Parts - $90.00   |   Score Only - $9.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
French Horn I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Harp (Opt.)
Organ (Opt.)
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bell Tree
  • Brake Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (Tam-tam)
  • Hi-Hat
  • Mark Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tubular Bells
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This programmatic tone poem for symphonic band opens as Mount Pilatus slumbers at night, shrouded in darkness and mystery among the clouds high above Lucerne. As dawn breaks, a band of courageous adventurers climb Pilatus in search of dragons to slay. After an arduous journey filled with breathtaking views and terrestrial beauty, the adventurers finally stumble across a dragon lair. They awaken the mighty dragon who must now battle the intruders of his domain. All but one adventurer are mortally wounded, leaving the pitiful human to beg for mercy and forgiveness from the dragon. Demonstrating great compassion, the dragon produces a magical stone, called draconite, from his own wounds in order to heal and save the intruders. In doing so, the dragon has also placed compassion and tolerance in the hearts and minds of man, leading them to a happy and peaceful coexistence with the dragons of Pilatus.

Pilatus: Mountain of Dragons was commissioned by the Jugend-Blasorchester (Youth Wind Orchestra) of the city of Lucerne, Switzerland, to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the ensemble. The world premiere was given on May 31, 2002, in the spectacular Kultur und kongresszentrum Lucerne (Culture and Congress Center) performance hall at the base of Mt. Pilatus in Lucerne.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Arkansas Winds Community Concert Band (Michael Ferguson, conductor) - 25 February 2023
  • Allegheny College (Meadville, Penn.) Wind Symphony (Lowell Hepler, conductor) - 8 May 2022
  • Winds of the Houston (Tx.) Symphony (Steven Reineke, conductor) - 20 March 2021
  • Cumberland County (Tenn.) Community Band (William T. Kerr, conductor) – 19 March 2020
  • San Bernandino (Calif.) District Honor Band(Nicholas Bratcher, conductor)- 27 February 2020
  • Catskill Valley Wind Ensemble (Oneonta, N.Y.) (Scott Rabeler, conductor)– 28 April 2019
  • St. Lawrence University (Canton, N.Y.) Wind Ensemble (Theresa Whitmer, conductor) – 16 April 2019
  • Milburn (N.J.) High School Symphonic Band Blue (Mindy Scheierman, conductor)- 9 January 2019
  • Honolulu (Hi.) Wind Ensemble (Keith Higaki, conductor) – 17 April 2018
  • University of Illinois (Champaign) University Concert Band (Patricia Vanega, conductor) – 5 December 2017
  • Golden Gate Park Band (San Francisco, Calif.) (Michael Wirgler,conductor) – 11 June 2017
  • Hartt Philharmonia Winds (Alan Francis, conductor) – 14 May 2017
  • University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa) Concert Band (Randall O. Coleman, conductor) – 6 November 2016
  • Cleveland (Ohio) Youth Wind Symphony Symphonic Winds (Melissa Lichter, conductor) – 15 November 2015
  • North Jersey (Oakland) Concert Band (Mike Roth, conductor) - 14 May 2015
  • Keene (N.H.) State College Concert Band (Sarah Wolff, conductor) - 31 October 2013

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Reineke, S. (1999). Pilatus: Mountain of Dragons [score]. C.L. Barnhouse: Oskaloosa, Iowa.