Pikes Peak

From Wind Repertory Project
Adam Gorb

Adam Gorb

General Info

Year: 2017
Duration: c. 11:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: HAFABRA Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €167.00   |   Score Only (print) - €34.00


1. Cog Railway - 3:24
2. Climb Dance - 2:04
3. Summit - 4:39


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongo
  • Castanet
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Foot Pedal Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Maracas
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Temple Block (5)
  • Tom-tom (2)
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Pikes Peak is the highest summit (14,115 foot) of the southern Front Range of the Rocky Mountains in the USA. It is the second most visited mountain in the world after Mount Fuji. This ten-minute work for wind ensemble written in 2017 is in three movements:

Cog Railway - This is the most practical way of getting up to the top of the mountain – the music is mainly relaxed with a constant chugging rhythm, but there are some tense moments that reflect some of the twists and turns of the journey. The panoramic aspect of the ascent comes more into focus at the end of the movement.

Climb Dance - The title is taken from a short film featuring the Finnish rally driver Ari Vatanen driving up Pike’s Peak in record time in a Peugeot 405 Turbo 16-GR. By the time you’ve read this the movement will be finished.

Summit - The slow movement of the work, a grandiose celebration of some of the most spectacular views where on a clear day you can see five states (Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico, Utah and Kansas) and even the curvature of the earth fading into the distance.

- Program Note from publisher

In memory of David Maslanka, 1943–2017.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Gettysburg (Penn.) College Wind Symphony (Russell McCutcheon, conductor) – 23 November 2019
  • Colorado State University-Pueblo Wind Ensemble(Alan W. Mills, conductor) - 24 February 2018 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works