Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Pieces of Eight

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Joseph Willcox Jenkins

Joseph Willcox Jenkins (arr. Jerome Neff; ed. Frederick Fennell)

Subtitle: Based on Themes from Beethoven's Symphony #8.

This work bears the designation Opus 8

General Info

Year: 1954 / 2001
Duration: c. 3:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ludwig Masters
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $50.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Condensed Score
D-flat Piccolo
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This march as composed in 1950 with the aid of Jerome Neff, a fellow student at Eastman, and was published in 1954. It is dedicated to Frederick Fennell, who later edited the work.

The march is based on themes of Beethoven's Symphony No. 8 - thus the title. Precedence for such use of the classics is found throughout much of the history of marching band, beginning in Western Europe and continuing to the corps-style bands of the United States.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Pomona (Calif.) Concert Band (Linda W. Taylor, conductor) – 18 August 2016
  • Minnesota State Band (Saint Paul) (Charles Boody, conductor) - 3 December 2014
  • La Paz Intermediate Band - June 2011
  • Eastman Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Frederick Fennell, conductor) – 17 December 1954

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Jenkins, J.; Neff, J.; Fennell, F. [1954]. Pieces of Eight: Concert March [score]. Ditson: Bryn Mawr, Penn.
  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 328