Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Peter Maxwell Davies

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Peter Maxwell Davies


Sir Peter Maxwell Davies (8 September 1934, Salford, England – 14 March 2016, Sanday, Orkney) was a British composer and conductor, who in 2004 was made Master of the Queen's Music.

Davies attended the Royal Manchester College of Music and Manchester University. One of his first compositions, Sonata for Trumpet and Piano, was premiered by another R.M.C.M. classmate, Elgar Howarth, in 1955. He studied in Rome with Goffredo Petrassi and later attended Princeton University, studying with Roger Sessions, Earl Kim, and Milton Babbitt.

Davies composed a number of pieces for the Pierrot Players, a group founded along with Birtwistle. He has served as associate conductor for the B.B.C. Philharmonic and the Royal Philharmonic and has also conducted the Boston Symphony, the Cleveland Orchestra,the Leipzig Gewandhaus, and the San Francisco Symphony. Among performers he has composed for are the B.B.C. Philharmonic, the Boston Symphony, and Isaac Stern. His works include eight symphonies, 10 Strathclyde concertos, and the frequently performed orchestral work An Orkney Wedding, with Sunrise (1985), commissioned by the Boston Pops Orchestra.

Works for Winds