Perpetuum Mobile (arr. Carros)

From Wind Repertory Project
Johann Strauss Jr

Johann Strauss Jr (arr. Michael Carros)

Subtitle: A Musical Joke
This work bears the designation Opus 257.

General Info

Year: 1861 / 1995
Duration: c. 3:10
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Molenaar Edition
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €166.80   |   Score Only (print) - €27.35


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
E-flat Flugelhorn
Flugelhorn I-II
Bugle Solo-I
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Johann Strauss Junior wrote this Perpetuum Mobile opus 257, in 1861, inspired by a grand Viennese Ball. This event had been announced as a 'Carnival Perpetuum Mobile' with non-stop dancing and music. The Strauss brothers conducted alternately, so the music and the dancing never stopped. This composition consists of 24 variations on a theme of eight bars, allowing a small solo part to almost all instruments. As is often the case with Johann Strauss's compositions, the point comes at the end. This ingenious musical satire, subtitled A musical Joke, immediately became the big success of the Summer Concert Season of the Strauss Orchestra in the Russian town of Pavlovsk in 1862.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Perusal score
  • Strauss, Jr., J.; Carros, M. (1995). Perpetuum Mobile: For Band = Fanfare [[score]. Molenaar: Wormerveer, Neth.