People Who Live in Glass Houses

From Wind Repertory Project
John Philip Sousa

John Philip Sousa (arr. John R Bourgeois)

Subtitle: A Bacchanal Suite in Four Movements

General Info

Year: 1909 / 2004
Duration: c. 11:02
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Wingert-Jones
Cost: Score and Parts - $95.00   |   Score Only - $20.00


1. The Champagnes – 1:38
2. The Rhine Wines – 3:22
3. White Rock and Psyches
4. The Whiskies – Scotch, Irish, Bourbon and Rye – 5:00
5. Convention of the Cordials – 2:11


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Pop-Gun
  • Slapstick
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Subtitled "A Bacchanal Suite in Four Movements," this delightful four-movement suite was written in 1909, just before the Sousa Band's world tour. The movements are titled: The Champagnes; The Rhine Wines; The Whiskies - Scotch, Irish, Bourbon, and Rye and Convention of the Cordials. Each movement reflects the country or region from which the various drinks are derived and can be performed as separate works. Entertaining and very musical, the suite was later revised for orchestra but was never published for band until 2004.

- Program Note from publisher

This music, which was never published as a suite, is characteristic of the countries in which the various drinks originated. It was later revised, arranged for orchestra, and used as ballet music in a revival of The Bride Elect in Philadelphia in 1923.

- Program Note from John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Bierley, P. (1973). John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works. University of Illinois Press; Urbana, pp. 85.
  • Sousa, J.; Bourgeois, J. (2004). People Who Live in Glass Houses : A Bacchana Suite in Four Movements : for Concert Band [score]. Wingert-Jones: Kansas City, Mo.