Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Paule Maurice

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Paule Maurice


Paule Charlotte Marie Jeanne Maurice (29 September 1910, Paris – 18 August 1967, Paris) was a French composer.

Paule Maurice's teachers included Jean Gallon (harmony), Noël Gallon (counterpoint and fugue) and Henri Büsser (composition). From 1933 to 1947 Maurice was Jean Gallon's teaching assistant. She received first prize of harmony in 1933, second prize of fugue in 1934, and in 1939 received first prize in composition. In 1942, Maurice was appointed professor of déchiffrage (sight-reading), and in 1965 became professor of harmonic analysis at l'École Normale de Musique. Maurice taught many students who became professors to the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris with some winning the Prix de Rome (

Her most famous composition is the suite Tableaux de Provence pour saxophone et orchestre written between 1948 and 1955 dedicated to saxophone virtuoso Marcel Mule. It is most often heard as a piano reduction. It was premiered on 9 December 1958 by Jean-Marie Londeix with the Orchestre Symphonique Brestois directed by Maurice's husband and fellow composer Pierre Lantier.

Maurice's other compositions include Suite pour quatuor de flûtes, Volio, Cosmorama, Concerto pour piano et orchestre, Mémoires d'un chat, Trois pièces pour violon, and many more. There are more titles catalogued in the library of the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris where Maurice studied and spent her professional life.

Maurice and Pierre Lantier wrote a treatise on harmony entitled Complément du Traité d'Harmonie de Reber that became an important reference work in France and abroad. It was intended to be used in conjunction with the 1862 treatise of Napoléon Henri Reber entitled Traité d'Harmonie. The impact of Stravinsky, Debussy, and Ravel had created the need to update harmonic analysis.

Works for Winds