Passage (Lindroth)

From Wind Repertory Project
Scott Lindroth

Scott Lindroth

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 10:35
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Ajir Music
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Brake Drum (3)
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Marimba
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Piccolo Snare Drum
  • Piccolo Woodblock
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbals (small and medium)
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Passage was composed in 2010, but the music looks back at earlier times in my life. A prominent four-note theme, first heard as the harmonized melody in the woodwinds, comes from a piece I composed in 1990 called Duo for Violins. In the duo, the theme appears at a climactic moment and is filled with passionate intensity. In Passage, the theme is set with rich harmonies that shift with each repetition, and the rhythmic character is supple and nuanced. To me, it's like, encountering an old friend who has changed with age, hopefully for the better.

Composing for symphonic band was another occasion for retrospection. My formative musical experiences began in 1970, when I played in public school bands and jazz ensembles directed by men who offered instruction, mentorship, and priceless opportunities to discover myself as a composer and musicians. And so it is with gratitude that I dedicate this piece to Robert C. Shirek, Calvin D. Moely, and Raymond C. Wifler, three American bandmasters who revealed to me what it could mean to live a life in music.

Passages was commission by the American Bandmasters Association and received its premiere at the Midwest Conference in December 15, 2010, in a performance by the United States Marine Band ("The President's Own") conducted by Captain Michelle Rakers.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer