Passacaglia from "Cantata No 12"

From Wind Repertory Project
Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach (arr. Larry Daehn)

General Info

Year: 1714 / 2011
Duration: c. 3:20
Difficulty: II (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Chamber ensemble with voices
Publisher: Daehn Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $72.00   |   Score Only (print) - $6.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Bach's Cantata No. 12, Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen ("Weeping, Wailing, Grieving, Fearing") was composed for the third Sunday after Easter, April 22, 1714, at the Weimar Court, where Bach served as organist and chorus master from 1708 to 1717. The second movement of the cantata (originally scored for chorus, alto, tenor, and bass soloists, strings, oboe, bassoon, and continuo) is built upon a basso ostinato in the form of a classic passacaglia, where the bass is steadfastly unaltered, Bach famously reworked the same much many years later as the "Crucifixus" of his Mass in B Minor.

- Program Note from Teaching Music Through Performance in Band


State Ratings

  • Florida: III


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • California State University, Los Angeles Wind Ensemble (Emily Moss, conductor) – 15 March 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Bach, J.; Daehn, L. (2011). Passacaglia: From Canata No. 12 [score]. Daehn Publications: New Glarus, Wisc.
  • Ragsdale, David. ""Passacaglia" from Cantata No. 12." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 9, edit. & comp. by Richard Miles, 200-205. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2013.