Passacaglia (arr. Glover)

From Wind Repertory Project
Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach (arr. Andrew Glover)

This work bears the designation BWV 582.

General Info

Year: c. 1712 / 2014
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Organ
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $72.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-
Trombone I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum (optional)
  • Bells
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Passacaglia and Fugue in C Minor, BWV 582, was composed for solo organ, presumably in the early 1700s. No original manuscript survives. This passacaglia represents one of the most examples ofapassacaglia form, which usually uses ¾ time, beginning with an ostinato in the bass, followed by a set of variations. The Passacaglia was transcribed for orchestra several times, as well as for other ensembles.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class A


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Philadelphia (Penn.) Wind Symphony (Paul Bryan, conductor) - 17 October 2022

Works for Winds by this Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Bach, J.; Glover, A. (2014). Passacaglia: BWV 582 [score]. C.L. Barnhouse: Oskaloosa, Iowa.
  • Perusal score