Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Partita (Gregson)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Edward Gregson

Edward Gregson

General Info

Year: 1973, rev. 1999
Duration: c. 10:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: G and M Brand - British Music Publishers
Cost: Score & Parts - $125.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
Flute I-II (I doubles piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Woodblocks (2)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Partita was originally composed for brass band in 1973. The work is in three movements, and uses material based on the 13th century plainsong "Dies Irae". The opening "Intrada" is sombre. The second movement is a "Chorale and Variations". The chorale melody follows the main outline of the plainsong. The five variatins are varied in mood and intensity. The final "March" is much happier in mood and has a lyrical tune in the middle, first heard on horns. However, references to the "Dies Irae" are still apparent and the final bars of the work contain a quote from the opening movement.

Program Note from Printed Score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.