Paisajes Bajo el Signo de Cosmos

From Wind Repertory Project
Arturo Márquez

Arturo Marquez (arr. Jacques Claessens)

Subtitle: Homenaje a José María Velasco

General Info

Year: 1993 / 2012
Duration: c. 10:25
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Baton Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €142.00   |   Score Only (print) - €38.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Solo Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Guiro
  • Maracas
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Arturo Marquez wrote his Paisajes Bajo el signo de Cosmos (Landscapes under the sign of the cosmos) in 1993 for a retrospective exhibition of the Mexican painter Jose Maria Velasco (1840-1912) in Mexico's National Museum of the Arts.

This ten-minute orchestral movement has the paradoxical qualities of an introspective character and strong Mexican rhythms. Its strong, inventive use of rhythm, colorful orchestration, and good melodies suggest it would be a very popular addition to the international repertoire of pieces that show a strong Latin American heritage.

- Program Note from publisher


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of California Davis Concert Band (Pete Nowlen, conductor) - 8 March 2023

Works for Winds by This Composer