Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Oxford Street

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Eric Coates

Eric Coates (arr. Douglas E Wagner)

Subtitle: First Movement (from 'London Again' Suite for Orchestra)

General Info

Year: 1936/2009
Duration: c. 3:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $70.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The crisp, jaunty march style is immediately apparent in this delightful orchestral transcription. Light and lively, listeners will hear the hustle and bustle of the West End section of London in the tuneful first strain. A colorful selection by the composer dubbed "the uncrowned king of light music."

This first-ever transcription of the opening "march" takes the listener to the hustle and bustle of London's west-end shopping district. Dubbed the "uncrowned king of light music," Coates' instantly recognizable scoring in a march-style is a certain winner for Douglas Wagner's new concert band setting.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Coates, E.; Wagner, D. (2009). Oxford Street (March) : First Movement (from London Again Suite for Orchestra) [score]. Belwin: [s.l.]