Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Overture to "Colas Breugnon" (tr Beeler)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Dmitri Kabalevsky

Dmitri Kabalevsky (trans. Beeler)

General Info

Year: 1937 / 1944 / 1967
Duration: c. 4:40
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Shawnee Press
Cost: Score & Parts - $125.00   |   Score Only - $18.00


Full Score
Flute I-II-III (III doubles Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra-Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
French Horn I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbal (crash)
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The opera Colas Breugnon: The Master of Clamecy (1937) was the first of several operas written by Kabalevsky. The libretto by V. Borogin is based on the book of the same name written by Romain Rolland (1866-1944) in May 1914.

In the book Eight Soviet Composers, Gerald Abraham states, "The book ("Colas Breugnon") consists of the month-by-month reflections through one year of a well-to-do Burgundian worker, a master craftsman in the early sixteenth century. There are incidents, rather than a plot, though some of the incidents are exciting enough: they include a siege, a riot and fire."

The overture has been widely performed by American symphony orchestras, and was premiered in this country by Arturo Toscanini and the NBC Symphony in 1943.

- Program note from score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class AA
  • Arkansas: V
  • California: VI Class AA
  • Florida: VI
  • Georgia: VI
  • Louisiana: V
  • Michigan: Senior High AA
  • Minnesota: I
  • South Carolina: VI
  • Tennessee: VI
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Grand Street (New York) Community Band (Brian Worsdale, conductor) – 18 May 2019
  • Iowa State University (Ames) Symphonic Band (Michael Golemo, conductor) – 2 December 2018
  • Truman University (Kirksville, Mo.) Wind Symphony I (Curran Prendergast, conductor) – 8 March 2018
  • State University of New York, Potsdam, Crane Wind Ensemble (Brian K. Doyle, conductor) – 23 September 2016
  • North Central High School (Indianapolis, Ind.) Wind Ensemble (Rick Granlund, conductor)] – May 2014

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Kabalevsky, D.; Beeler, W. (1967). Colas Breugnon Overture. Transcribed for Symphonic Band [score]. Shawnee Press: Delaware Water Gap, Penn.